Grand China Travel

Home Xian Xian Attractions Huaqing Hot Springs
Huaqing Hot Springs

The Huaqing Hot Springs is located in the Lintong District 30 km east to the urban area of Xian. With Mt. Lishan to its south and the Wei River to its north, it boasts the natural hot springs. The favorable geographical condition and natural environment make it one of the most famous resorts in history in China. Since ancient times, it has ever been a famous bathing and tourist destination.

According to historical records and archeological discoveries Huaqing Hot Springs has a history of 6000 years for the use of hot springs and a history of 3000 years of being royal gardens. Over these years, the cultural relics excavated near the source of hot springs prove that over 6000 years ago primitive residents had used the hot spring. In West Zhou, King You ordered the construction of Li Palace on the site. Then the emperors of the following dynasties join in the line. After Emperor Xuan Zong of the Tang Dynasty ascended the throne, he commanded the construction of Huaqing Palace on a large scale. The construction was built along the Lishan Mountains range, and the former spring well was designed into a pool. Roads were built to reach the top of Lishan Mountain and one two-way road to Chang'an linked Huaqing Palace with Daming Palace and Xingqing Palace in the capital city. In the year 747 A.D., the new palace was completed and Emperor Xuan Zong named it Huaqing Palace. Because there are many hot spring pools in the palace, it is also called Huaqing Pool With the third peak of Lishan Mountain and the source of hot springson the axis and the hot springs as the center, the palace was laid out in four directions. This design, on the one hand, made a good use of the hot springs; on the other hand, it represented a precise and strict layout. Inside the palace, there were official bureaus and houses and hot pools. In addition, some entertaining places such as the Rooster Fight Pit and Polo Field etc. for Emperor Xuan Zong and Lady Yang were also available. At that time, the history of Huaqing Pool reached its climax.

Among the many building in Huaqing Hot Springs, there is a hall of brick and lumber structure named the Five-Room Hall. It gets its name for its comprising of five single rooms. With Mountain Li to its south and the lotus pool to its north, this garden has wide and level court yard planted with luxuriant green trees. The Hall was built during late Qing Dynasty. In 1900 Empress Dowager Cixi flied Beijing and stayed here when The Eight-Power Allied Forced seized the capital city of Beijing. In 1934, it was renovated and became a resort place for high officials. In October and December of 1936, Chiang Kaishek went to Shanngxi and stayed in the Five-Room Hall where he held high-ranking military meetings.

Huqing Hot Springs Travel Tips

Address: 38, Huaqing Road, Lintong County, Xian

Phone: 029-83811162

Admission Fee: CNY70 from Mar 01 to Nov 31, CNY40 from Dec 01 to Feb 28 next year

Opening Hours: 09:00-17:00

Last Updated on Friday, 30 August 2013 14:56  

Find Your Destinations in China